Awards & sponsorship

The Eric Loewy Memorial Fund

The Eric Loewy Memorial Fund is established in memory of Eric Loewy who was for many years an active member and supporter of PIANC and, in particular, the Commission for Co-operation.

The Fund shall be used at the discretion of the Trustees to enable developing country members to participate in PIANC activities. This may include:

  • providing the financial means to enable developing country delegates to attend PIANC Congresses and regional meetings;
  • contribution of travel and living expenses to enable developing country members to participate in PIANC Working Groups;
  • financial support (fees, travel, living expenses) to enable ‘Young Engineers’ from developing countries to attend recognised training courses;

and other similar activities that the Trustees deem to be in accordance with the general objective of making PIANC accessible to the widest possible international membership.

De Paepe – Willems Award

The De Paepe-Willems Award is given annually in honour of Professor Gustave Willems, president of PIANC from 1956 until his death in 1982. As the PIANC President for seventeen years, Robert De Paepe fostered the international spirit and the professional development of PIANC. In 2002, it was decided to merge the “Foundation Robert De Paepe” with the Gustave Willems Award. As from 2003, the former Gustave Willems Award is known as the “De Paepe-Willems Award”. 
Contestants for the prize are required to submit a paper on subjects in the fields of design, construction, improvement, maintenance of operation of inland and maritime waterways (rivers, estuaries, canals, port approaches), of inland and maritime ports and of coastal areas. The Award consists of an amount of €4,000  and free membership of PIANC for a 3 year period.

Visit for further information.

Jack Nichol Award for Outstanding Marina Design

Jack Nichol Award for Outstanding Marina Design is presented annually for outstanding marina design, in memory of the late Jack Nichol, honorary member of PIANC and well known marina designer.

This award recognises excellence in the design of modern recreational boating facilities around the world.

Anyone may submit an application to be considered for the Jack Nichol Award.

Visit for more information.

Working with Nature Award

If you are responsible for or involved in an ‘environmentally-ambitious’ operational navigation infrastructure project, your project may be eligible for a ‘Working with Nature’ Certificate of Recognition. 

All projects submitted for the full ‘Working with Nature’ Certificate of Recognition will also be considered as entries for the four-yearly ‘Working with Nature’ Award. Every four years, representatives of the top three projects are invited to the PIANC World Congress, where the prestigious Award will be presented.

Visit for more information.

%d bloggers like this: